Feeling Lost

The questions about which career path I should follow are non stop right now.

Psychology?

I love psych. I love helping people.  I want to understand the way people are and I can do that through this field.  But, I get attached easily.  And I empathize for others and put myself in their shoes.  This will add more stress to my life and my anxiety will get in the way. But, I am good at psychology and I actually understand it.

Physical Therapy?

I have worked in a physical therapy office for three years now.  The first year I loved it.  I was helping others get back on their feet and enjoy life again.  But, there were a few elders that did not progress.  I actually watched them weaken over time.  During my third year as an assistant, it began to wear me down.  I was stressing over patients pain, progression, health and so much more.  I would go home and worry about them doing their walks.  This also added stress to my life.  Also, it’s a lot of work.  As much as I want to help everyone, It depends on insurance and liability and a lot of other issues.  I will not be able to balance this and take care of the patients.

Teaching?

I would love to teach at an elementary school.  I love to watch kids learn, and helping them in the process would be very fulfilling.  But, there are so many hours you put in as a teacher that you are no being paid for.  I know it’s not all about the money, but I do not want to work my ass of grading and creating work if I am not being paid for it.  But, then again, I would not mind being an english teacher.

Gerontology?

The study of aging.  Elders are my pride and joy.  I want to take care of as many as I can. The elders have the best stories and have overcome a lot of obstacles.  They have wise words and amazing advice.  I would love to be able to take care of them.  My motivation comes from my uncle.  When he was in a nursing home, the nurses did not treat him well.  I do not want anybody else to go through what he did.  No one should live a long and enjoyable life and end it in a home where they do not care for you.  But, I get attached easily, and the elders do not have much time left. This is a tough decision, but something I would enjoy doing.

Beach Bum?

The best decision there is.  Carefree. No taxes. Life is good. But, what if it rains. What if I don’t find food, or water. What if it’s freezing. So, I guess the beach bum idea is just a good thing in my head not in reality.

Leave a comment